valsdayeveryday

Just another WordPress.com site

Better believe it… (Professor’s Choice Post #5)

on May 6, 2012

It’s funny when you’re listening to a new band and their songs start meaning something to you. I never thought a Beatles song would be a favorite of mine. The first track I heard during this assignment was ”Two Of Us” by The Beatles. It is the first track off the album Let It Be. As I started listening to this song, I thought of really happy times. This song is about two people experiencing life together and how they share so many memories together. Kind of like how The Beatles shared experiences together during their road to stardom. I love how this is a duet between John Lennon and Paul McCartney singing and reminiscing about good times even though during the time the album came out they weren’t even recording in the same studios.

What I love about this song is that anyone can relate to it. We all have people we share fond memories with. For me, I share the greatest memories with my sisters. I have four beautiful sisters that mean the world to me. The greatest gift my mother has ever given to me has probably be my sisters. We grew up together and still are growing up together. Every song tells a story and The Beatles are telling a different story about their lives during stardom. One of my favorite lyrics in the song is ”Two of us riding nowhere Spending someones hard earned pay, You and me Sunday driving, Not arriving on our way back home”. I think of John and Paul singing about their time in the band and their experiences on the road during tour. It’s like they’re singing about spending the money of their fans that bought their albums or went to their concerts but always experiencing it with each other. ”Not arriving on our way back home” meaning since their stars they’re always on the road and that’s the sacrifice they have to make in this industry. ”Two Of Us” addresses the relationship between John and Paul which brought The Beatles such greatness. Although, they both clashed during their time in the band the fact that this song came out of it is beautiful.

My favorite lyric in this song is ”You and I have memories Longer than the road that stretches out ahead” because it reminds me of the relationship I have with my sisters. Nobody knows what you go through besides yourself but if your family is there and sees it all too. My sisters have seen my ups and my downs. They have been there through it all. I remember when my mother would dress me and my sisters alike at family events. Those were some good times and great memories. As the years go by, we all grow up and go on and live our lives separately but we’ll always share memories together. In order to preserve my memory I love to take pictures with my sisters. They call me ”The Picture Queen” because I love taking pictures. The reason I love taking pictures is because I keep them as memories and want to hold on to them for when I get older and I forget what it was like to live with my sisters, take funny pictures and remember what like was like back then. We only live once but if we do it right once is enough, right? Mae West said it best. My two older sisters don’t live at home anymore and I’m the oldest living at home with my other two sisters. We try to make a family day at home where we spend a sister day together. ”We’re on our way home” is such a great line. There’s no place like home with all of my sisters together just hanging out watching a movie and laughing about our days.

 

 

Album Rating: 5 (because this song reminds me of my sisters and I love them more than life itself!)

Leave a Reply

