valsdayeveryday

Just another WordPress.com site

Who are ”The Beatles” ? (Professor Choice Post #2)

on May 5, 2012

Who doesn’t know who ”The Beatles” are? I don’t know anyone who doesn’t and I don’t think they will ever be non-existent. We might not know who they are personally or even their names but when you hear ”The Beatles” you automatically get a light bulb on the top of your head and you’re like ”Yeah. I know who they are but I don’t know who they are”. Most people my age or the younger generation don’t know who they are and what they were all about. The Beatles were a band that stole the hearts of many people in the 1960’s. The Beatles busted in the pop scene and took over the throne of music in that era. The Beatles changed what rock bands could do to music. From their album covers to their lyrics to their sound The Beatles will be a phenomenon that will continue to live on forever. The more time passes, the more their music influences people and will continues to grow. Even though they are not around to create new music, their music will still be heard and live on forever.

The band consists of four members also known as ”The Fab Four”. The band was officially together from 1962 to 1970. Although 8 years doesn’t seem like a lot they were still a huge success. They produced 12 albums in 8 years, if that isn’t pretty awesome I don’t know what is. The four bands members Band members included George Harrison, John Lennon, Paul McCartney, and Ringo Starr. They came from Liverpool, England. According to an online source, ”They were originally inspired by the simple guitar-and-washboard style  “skiffle” music. Skiffle was a lively type of acoustic (nonelectric)  music that used songs from British and American folk and popular music”. Let It Be was released on May 8, 1970, nearly 42 years ago today. That just blew my mind because people still listen to them and talk about them. This album was considered to their 12th and final studio album by the English rock band. Shortly after, Paul McCartney announced their break-up . Meanwhile their music was about love and peace, something that they wanted everyone in the world to experience. What I find funny is that they were singing about ”peace” but where was the peace between the band during this album? It makes me sad that a band like this could have experienced a break up. All good things come to an end though, right?  As I’m writing these blogs, I can’t help but replay over and over the song ”Let It Be”. I think it’s probably one of my favorites and aches my heart because music brings people together but it didn’t for this band. It actually tore them apart.

This album is new to me and something I have to experience on my own. Usually when a popular song comes out on the radio everyone talks about it and all ”like” it at the same time. I’m listening to this album 40 years too late. I guess it’s better late than never. I’ve listened to this album on my stoop while watching cars pass by on the highway and at that moment I felt relaxed. I felt like there was no pressure on me. Nothing holding me back in that moment. Sometimes we forget that we’re people living in a world that doesn’t stop for nobody and our time on this planet can be gone in a blink of an eye. We are so caught up in the struggles of everyday life, getting that A! or getting that dream car you always wanted or waking up at 5am for your full-time job in the city or making others happy before making yourself happy. I think that’s what The Beatles wanted us to think about. As I continue listening, I’m slowly becoming a fan of The Beatles. I’m learning to appreciate their music and the struggles they went through to produce pretty awesome lyrics.

 

 

Sources:

http://www.notablebiographies.com/Ba-Be/Beatles.html

http://www.beatles-history.net/beatles-let-it-be.html

 

Album Rating: 4+ (I’m starting to develop a crush on this band and really impressed with how far their music has gone)

 

Leave a Reply

